Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

love_languages.jpgWhat Are The 5 Languages of Love?

Learning Yours and Others Preferred Love Languages

Do you respond best to receiving gifts, hugging, praise for a job well done, or something else? Gary Chapman is the author of ‘5 Languages of Love and his research shows there are five key ways you can communicate love, and different people respond more to different ways. Most people strongly prefer one or two of these five ways of communicating love, followed by the others in a ranked order unique to them. Take the free quiz here to find out yours.

5 Languages of Love

1.    Words of Affirmation
2.    Acts of Service
3.    Receiving Gifts
4.    Physical Touch
5.    Quality Time

Everyone is Different

Taking that first step – learning the preferred ‘love languages’ of yourself and the people closest to you – can make a huge difference in building the strength of your relationship and strength of communication whether at home or in the workplace.

If you have a partner but do not yet know your partner’s primary love language(s), don’t worry – just concoct an awesome plan that includes elements of all of the 5 love languages and see what they love the most! If you don’t have a partner, you can include elements of each of these to show your love for your closest friends and family. And have them take the quiz too, so they can show their appreciation for you! Take the free quiz here to find out yours.

1. Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important— hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. You thrive on hearing kind and encouraging words that build you up.

2. Acts of Service5love_languages.jpg

Can helping with homework really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most wants to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. When others serve you out of love (and not obligation), you feel truly valued and loved.

3. Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are heartfelt symbols to you of someone else's love and affection for you.

4. Physical Touch

A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, and thoughtful touches on the arm—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Appropriate and timely touches communicate warmth, safety, and love to you.

5. Quality Time

In Quality Time, nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes you feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed activities, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Whether itʼs spending uninterrupted time talking with someone else or doing activities together, you deepen your connection with others through sharing time.

There you have it: you’ve told a loved one you love them; cooked them dinner; physically touched them; given them a gift; and spent some time talking with them over dinner. Now you’ve told them you love them in all 5 ways!

Now just remember to ask them to take the quiz too, so you’ll know each other’s languages of love next time around.

Amirah's Popular Posts

why detox What Your Doctor Is Not Telling You  The Lost Art of Weeding...

true essence of love LOVE ...  Everyone talks about it but few people really understand...

ascension_symptoms_2 Humanity is WAKING UP!  Ascension Symptoms of The Great Shift...

spiritual-awakening Shifting Of Collective Belief Systems You Chose To Participate Or...

human-consciousness Emotional Breaking Point Solar Winds Are Streaming Toward Earth A...

/live_your_own_life Live The Life You Came Here For Re-Establish Your Own Unique Energy The...

Amirah's Radio Show